2018 Super Rugby schedule unveiled

Sanzaar has released the schedule for the 2018 Super Rugby tournament which has been reduced to 15 teams.

The season makes a snoozy debut with the Stormers firing the first shots against the Jaguares and the Australian and New Zealand teams on a bye.

In the new format, made up of three, five-team conferences, each team will play 16 regular season matches, comprising eight within their own conference (on a home and away basis), and eight matches against cross-conference opponents, which means teams will only face 12 of 14 rivals every season.

The playoffs will comprise eight teams, facing off in seven matches from July 20 until the Final on August 4.

Because the South African Conference kicks off a week earlier than in Australia and New Zealand, all four local teams will have a bye between the final pool match before the June Test break, and the Springboks’ opening Test against England.

This will be the last time that Super Rugby will break for the June Tests, as 2019 is a Rugby World Cup year and in 2020, the midyear Tests will move to July.

New Zealand Conference
Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders, Hurricanes

Australian Conference
Brumbies, Rebels, Reds, Waratahs, Sunwolves

South African Conference
Bulls, Lions, Sharks, Stormers, Jaguares.

The 2018 schedule for each of the four South African teams:




- All Out Rugby Staff Writer

Let's chat

  • Barry Smith

    The Sharks have 6 home games and 7 away, whilst all other SA franchises have 7 home 6 away. Can these SANZA chaps get nothing right!!!

    • Denzil McLaren

      No each team will play 8 home and 8 away matches prior to the quarter-finals. So after the June Test matches The Sharks will play 2 home games and one away while all the other SA teams will play one at home and two away.

  • Charlie

    Yeah Barry, it seems as though it’s almost impossible to please everyone or have fairness in tours and home advantage.

    Looking at the above fixtures tables…

    Bulls and Stormers have only 4 matches outside SA including a 3 match tour of Australasia.

    Where as Lions and Sharks have 5 matches outside SA including a 4 match tour of Aus/Nzl.

    I’m sure they’ll alternate every season.

    I feel what’s more important is whether or not the teams from down under have 3 or 4 match tours of SA/Jap/Arg. I doubt it. Since the inception of Super rugby in the 90’s they have had more favourable tours.

    Ultimately, it seems SANZAAR will never be able to reach true or perfect parity in tour schedules. This, however, does not take away from the already far improved model. They have answered our calls to play both Aussie and Kiwi teams every year.

Comments are closed.