2018 Super Rugby schedule

The 15-team, 2018 Super Rugby season kicks off in Cape Town on February 17 when the Stormers host the Jaguares.

The Australian and New Zealand teams start the season on a bye in Round 1 which wraps up with the Sharks visiting the Lions den.

In the new format, made up of three, five-team conferences, each team will play 16 regular season matches, comprising eight within their own conference (on a home and away basis), and eight matches against cross-conference opponents, which means teams will only face 12 of 14 rivals every season.

The playoffs will be contested by eight teams, facing off in seven matches from July 20 until the Final on August 4.

Because the South African Conference kicks off a week earlier than in Australia and New Zealand, all four local teams will have a bye between the final pool match before the June Test break, and the Springboks’ opening Test against England.

This will be the last time that Super Rugby will break for the June Tests, as 2019 is a Rugby World Cup year and in 2020, the midyear Tests will move to July.

New Zealand Conference
Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders, Hurricanes

Australian Conference
Brumbies, Rebels, Reds, Waratahs, Sunwolves

South African Conference
Bulls, Lions, Sharks, Stormers, Jaguares.

The 2018 schedule for each of the four South African teams:




- All Out Rugby Staff Writer

Let's chat

  • Slakkie G

    Early Tour for Stormers is Good News….

  • Peter

    When SANZAR finally get their act together and all conferences begin and end their games on same days…these stupid irregular byes might become a thing of the past.
    Bulls have most favourable draw as they only play four games overseas….whereas other SA teams have five….but maybe they need that advantage because of their woeful performance the last few years….

Comments are closed.