Barbarians put away Ulster

Thierry Dusautoir's final rugby game ended in victory as the Barbarians defeated Ulster 43-28 on Thursday in Belfast.

The former France captain converted Joe Tekori's late try to round off a big win for the invitational side, who were defeated by England last Sunday at Twickenham.

It was an emotional night at the Kingspan Stadium as Ulster bid farewell to number eight Roger Wilson (retiring) and scrum-half Ruan Pienaar.

Quick tries from Stuart McCloskey and Mark Keane, the first converted by Wilson, gave Ulster a fast start, but the Barbarians moved infront thanks to tries from Corey Flynn, Waisea Nayacalevu and Chris King.

King grabbed a second before the break, after Callum Patterson had crossed for Ulster, to give the Barbarians a 22-21 lead, and it could have been more had it not been for three missed conversions.

Alan O'Connor's try, Ulster's fourth, put the hosts back ahead again after the interval but from there the Barbarians dominated, starting with a penalty try.

Nayacalevu added a second score before Tekori went over in the closing stages to wrap up the win.

The scorers:

For Ulster:
Tries: McCloskey, Keane, Patterson, O'Connor
Cons: Wilson, Pienaar 2, Herron

For Barbarians:
Tries: Flynn, Nayacalevu 2, King 2, Penalty Try, Tekori
Cons: Agulla, Madigan 2, Dusautoir
Yellow Card: Masoe

Ulster: 15 Peter Nelson, 14 Mark Keane, 13 Callum Patterson, 12 Stuart McCloskey, 11 Craig Gilroy, 10 Brett Herron, 9 Ruan Pienaar (cc), 8 Roger Wilson (cc), 7 Clive Ross, 6 Matthew Rea, 5 Alan O'Connor, 4 Pete Browne, 3 Rodney Ah You, 2 Rob Herring, 1 Andy Warwick
Replacements: 16 John Andrew, 17 Kyle McCall, 18 Ross Kane, 19 Stephen Mulholland, 20 Chris Henry, 21 Paul Marshall, 22 Dave Shanahan, 23 Callum Smith, 24 Ricky Lutton

Barbarians: 15 Alex Goode, 14 David Smith, 13 Waisea Nayacalevu, 12 Robbie Fruean, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Ian Madigan, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Facundo Isa, 7 Thierry Dusautoir (c), 6 Joe Tekori, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Paul Willemse, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Chris King
Replacements: 16 Richard Hibbard, 17 Vincent Pelo, 18 Census Johnston, 19 Jeremy Thrush, 20 Chris Masoe, 21 Kahn Fotuali'i, 22 Brock James, 23 Jean-Marcellin Buttin

Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
Assistant Referees: David Wilkinson (Ireland), Jonny Erskine (Ireland)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)

Photo credit: Barbarian FC Twitter

- Team Talk Media
- Team Talk Media