Chiefs change four for Jaguares

Chiefs head coach Colin Cooper has made four alterations to his starting XV for Friday's Super Rugby clash with the Jaguares in Rotorua.

He has kept the same front row which performed really well against the Reds in Brisbane in a Round 10 encounter two weeks ago. 

In the second row, Cooper has decided to rest Brodie Retallick, bringing in Michael Allardice who put in a strong performance against the Hurricanes in Wellington in Round Nine.

“We want Brodie to be firing on all cylinders for the Stormers game in South Africa," said Cooper.

"He gives so much as a leader off the field, and on the field he brings everything, and we need to keep that alive in him.”

The most capped Chief, Liam Messam, will start in the number eight jersey. Messam is from Rotorua and so spoke about how special it will be to play in front of his home support.

"I am really looking forward to bringing the boys to my home town," he said.

"It is always special coming back to Rotorua and we love the local support we get there."

In the back-line, Toni Pulu comes back from injury on to the wing, and Alex Nankivell comes in at inside centre. Johnny Faauli has earned a rest after starting every game so far this season. 

On the bench there is a potential debut for Levi Aumua back from injury, and for Bay of Plenty loose forward Jesse Parete in as injury cover.

Chiefs: 15 Charlie Ngatai (cc), 14 Toni Pulu, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 Solomon Alaimalo, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 8 Liam Messam, 7 Sam Cane (cc), 6 Lachlan Boshier/Luke Jacobson, 5 Tyler Ardron, 4 Michael Allardice, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Liam Polwart, 1 Karl Tu’inukuafe 
Replacements: 16 Nathan Harris, 17 Sam Prattley, 18 Jeff Thwaites, 19 Luke Jacobson/Jesse Parete, 20 Pita Gus Sowakula, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Marty McKenzie, 23 Levi Aumua

Date: Friday, May 4
Venue: Rotorua International Stadium
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Mike Fraser (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Paul Williams (New Zealand), Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)
Television match official: Shane McDermott (Australia)

- Team Talk Media
- Team Talk Media