Kings embarrassed in PE

Zebre overwhelmed the Kings in front of a small crowd at Nelson Mendela Bay Stadium in Saturday’s PRO14 action.

Southern Kings 17-43 Zebre

Zebre struck with six tries as they added to the Kings’ woes with a 43-17 win in Port Elizabeth.

The hosts have struggled greatly so far in their PRO14 bow and they would have hoped to bank their first win against a Zebre side who tend to struggle season on season. But, once again at a sparse Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, they fell to a disappointing defeat.

It was a dismal start for the new boys, as two tries inside four minutes gave Zebre a start not even the most optimistic supporter could have predicted. Tommaso Castello found the line within the first three minutes, Carlos Canna converting. And right from the restart, Kings conceded a second. Mattia Bellini found the line and although the conversion didn’t follow, a 12 point lead inside five minutes wasn’t a bad way to start.

Pieter-Steyn de Wet got Kings on the board with a penalty, but Renato Giammarioli only added to their woes with try number three on 20 minutes. And before the break, Canna struck another penalty for a 22-3 lead.

Tommaso Boni added to that after the break with try number four as Kings continued to suffer, although Godlen Masimla and Luvuyo Pupumpa did give them some hope with a pair of tries. But further tries from Giulio Bisegni and Jacopo Sarto gave Zebre a mammoth and significant 43-17 win.

The scorers:

For Kings:
Tries: Masimla, Pupumpa
Cons: De Wet 2
Pen: De Wet

For Zebre:
Tries: Castlello, Bellini, Giammarioli, Boni, Bisegni, Sarto
Cons: Castello, Canna 3, Bordoli
Pen: Canna

Southern Kings: 15 Masixole Banda, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Berton Klaasen, 12 Luzuko Vulindlu, 11 Sibusiso Sithole, 10 Pieter-Steyn de Wet,  9 Rudi van Rooyen, 8 Andisa Ntsila, 7 Victor Sekekete, 6 Khaya Majola, 5 Dries van Schalkwyk, 4 Stephen Greeff, 3 Luvuyo Pupuma, 2 Michael Willemse (c), 1 Schalk Ferreira
Replacements: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Rossouw de Klerk, 18 Martin Dreyer, 19 Bobby de Wee, 20 Freddy Ngoza, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Oliver Zono, 23 Jacques Nel

Zebre: 15 Matteo Minozzi, 14 Giulio Bisegni, 13 Tommaso Boni, 12 Tommaso Castello (c), 11 Mattia Bellini, 10 Carlo Canna, 9 Marcello Violi, 8 Renato Giammarioli, 7 Giovanni Licata, 6 Johan Meyer, 5 George Biagi, 4 David Sisi, 3 Roberto Tenga, 2 Oliviero Fabiani, 1 Andrea Lovotti
Replacements: 16 Sami Panico, 17 Andrea De Marchi, 18 Dario Chistolini, 19 Jacopo Sarto, 20 Derick Minnie, 21 Guglielmo Palazzani, 22 Serafin Bordoli, 23 Ciaran Gaffney

Referee: Seán Gallagher (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Andrew Brace (Ireland), Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

- All Out Rugby Staff Writer