Kriel in hot water for elbow

Jaco Kriel has been cited for an alleged elbow to the face of Stormers flyhalf Rob du Preez during the Lions vs Stormers match at Newlands.

Kriel is said to have contravened Law 10.4(o) Late charging the Kicker as he came into contact with Du Preez after attempting to charge down a clearance.

The referee for the match, Jaco Peyper, awarded a Yellow Card for the incident which occurred in the 26th minute.

Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play.

The Case is to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee which will take place on Sunday 16 April, 9am(SAST), 5pm(AEST), 7pm(NZST) via video-conference.

All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the Foul Play Review Committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the Foul Play Review Committee.

- All Out Rugby Staff Writer

Let's chat

  • Graeme

    Why has Caan not been cited? Why hasn’t Kolisi been cited?

Comments are closed.