UJ surprise, Maties cruise

Maties harnessed a strong tailwind at Danie Craven Stadium on Monday night to blitz Madibaz in the second half of a 35-16 comeback win for the Varsity Cup frontrunners.

After trailing 11-5 at the break, Maties lock Ian Groenewald, fullback Craig Barry, centre Michal Haznar and scrumhalf Brendon Nell crossed for tries as the home team overhauled Madibaz.

The showdown between Shimlas and CUT  in Bloemfontein was postponed due to waterlogged fields, but rain couldn’t rescue the Ikeys from a 20-13 reverse against Pukke in Potchefstroom.

Last week, in Round 3 of the Varsity Cup, slippery conditions served as a leveller of sorts and UCT surprised Shimlas 22-7 at Shimla Park. But a steady shower didn’t slow Pukke down on Monday night as they bounced back from a 31-9 loss against Maties to halt the Ikeys’ two-game streak.

The hosts were in total control, streaking into a 13-3 lead and absorbing a yellow card to winger Justin Newman. UCT consoled themselves with a last-minute try from lock Gary Porter.

Flyhalf Divan Nel kicked six penalties as UJ survived yellow peril to bank their first win of the season, a nail-biting 18-17 result against Tuks.

The numbers were tipped in the visitors’ favour for one quarter of the match as UJ winger Godfrey Ramaboea and flanker Wian Conradie each spent time in the sin-bin.

The contest was decided by a goal-kicking duel between Nel and Tuks counterpart, Tinus de Beer.

In the end, the Tuks No 10 blinked first, missing the attempted conversion of No 8 Denzil Hill’s late try, and UJ held on for the win.

Heading into Round 5, Maties’ 15 log points gives them a one-point cushion on Pukke, while Tuks and Shimlas are in third and fourth place respectively with 10 log points.

The Ikeys are just outside the playoff berths with nine points, Wits and UJ each have six points, Madibaz have five and CUT are still hunting their first win of the season.

Maties: 35
Five-point tries: Niel Oelofse, Ian Groenewald, Craig Barry, Michal Haznar
Seven-point tries: Brendon Nell
Penalties: Chris Smith (4)

Madibaz: 16
Five-point tries: Wynand Grassmann, Rouche Nel
Penalties: Thomas Kean (2)

MATIES: 15 Craig Barry (c), 14 Duncan Saal, 13 Michal Haznar, 12 Braam Venter, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Chris Smith, 9 Brendon Nell, 8 Devon Nash, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Mitchell Carstens, 5 Johan Momsen, 4 Ian Groenewald,  3 JE van der Merwe, 2 Craig Corbett, 1 Niel Oelofse
Bench: 16 Freddie Kirsten, 17 Wesley Adonis, 18 Wikus Groenewald, 19 Ernst van Rhyn, 20 Johann van Niekerk, 21 Logan Boonzaaier, 22 Chris Smit, 23 Tiaan Swanepoel

MADIBAZ: 15 Lindelwu Zungu, 14 Athenkosi Mayinje, 13 Siphumelele Mtsutwana, 12 Andile Jho, 11 Ivan-John du Preez, 10 Thomas Kean, 9 Rouche Nel, 8 Kevin Kaba ©, 7 Henry Brown, 6 Stephanus Nieuwoudt, 5 Gerrit Huisamen, 4 Wynand Grassman, 3 Nicolaas Oosthuizen, 2 JP Jamieson, 1 Xandre Vos
Bench: 16 Jedwyn Harty, 17 Thembelihle Yase, 18 Nicolas Roebeck, 19 Janse Roux, 20 Robert Izaks, 21 Lovu Claassen, 22 Jordan Koekemoer, 23 Jixie Molapo


Pukke: 20
Tries: Elden Schoeman (five-pointer), Estehan Visagie (five-pointer)
Conversions: Hugo (2)
Penalties: Hugo(2)

Ikeys: 13
Tries: Gary Porter (five-pointer)
Conversions: Lohan Lubbe
Penalties: Lohan Lubbe (2)

PUKKE: 15 Tapiwe Mafura, 14 Jimmy Mpailane, 13 Elden Schoeman, 12 Jaap Pienaar, 11 Justin Newman, 10 Schalk Hugo, 9 Chriswill September, 8 Marno Redelinghuys (c), 7 Boela Venter, 6 Marcel Henn, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Loftus Morrison, 3 Kabelo Motloung, 2 Louis van der Westhuizen, 1 Dolf van Deventer
Bench: 16 Dane van der Westhuizen, 17 Dewald Dekker, 18 Morné Strydom, 19 Estehan Visagie, 20, Wandile Mazibuko, 21 Caleb Louw, 22 Nkululeko Mcuma, 23 Lungelo Gosa

IKEYS: 15 Lohan Lubbe, 14 Rayno Mapoe, 13 Tristan Mouton, 12 Rico Lategan, 11 Joel Smith, 10 Robert Anderson, 9 Stefano de Gouveia, 8 Nyasha Tarusenga, 7 Luke Stringer, 6 Jason Klaasen (c), 5 Gary Porter, 4 Duncan Saffy, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 1 Wayrin Losper
Bench: 16 Martin Chandler, 17 William Day, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Nama Xaba, 20 Suwilanji Chibale, 21 Sanele Malwane, 22 Gerard Pieterse, 23 Hilio de Abreu


UJ: 18
Pens: Divan Nel (6)
Yellow cards: Godfrey Ramaboea, Wian Conradie

Tuks: 17
Tries: Denzel Hill
Pens: Tinus De Beer (4)

UJ: 15 Ewan Adams, 14 Peter John Walters,13 Aphiwe Dyanti, , 12 Jaco Fourie, 11 Godfrey Ramaboea 10 Divan Nel, 9 Johan Esterhuizen, 8 Leon Massyn, 7 Adrian Bester, 6 Wian Conradie, 5 Estian Enslin, 4 Reinhaardt  Nothnagel, 3 Nico du Plessis, 2 Johannes Snyman (c), 1 Waldo Weideman
Bench: 16 Le Roux Baard, 17 Kyle Kruger, 18 Chergin Fillies, 19 Jo Hanko De Villiers, 20 Siyabonga Luwaca , 21 Kevin du Randt, 22Devon Mare, 23 Carlisle Jordan

TUKS: 15 Divan Rossouw, 14 Dewald Naude, 13 Toko Maebane, 12 Impi Visser, 11 Sibahle Maxwane, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Theo Maree, 8 Juan-Re Swanepoel, 7 Chris Massyn (c), 6 Eduan Lubbe, 5 Brian Leitch, 4 Aston Fortuin, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Jan-Henning Campher, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel
Bench: 16 Theuns Reynolds, 17 Jaco Holtzhausen, 18 Marius Verwey, 19 Denzil Hill, 20 Raegen Oranje, 21 Joshua Stander, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Franco van den Berg

- All Out Rugby Staff Writer