New Zealand name squad for Singapore Sevens

New Zealand have made several tweaks to their squad for this weekend's Singapore Sevens, the eighth leg of World's Rugby's Sevens Series.

Just two weeks on from their gold medal campaign at the Commonwealth Games, the All Blacks Sevens team will be without Scott Curry (injury), Sam Dickson (injury), Joe Webber (illness), Regan Ware (parental leave) and Vilimoni Koroi (New Zealand U20s) in Singapore.

Exciting backs Ngarohi McGarvey-Black and Joe Ravouvou return to the squad, while the hard-working Teddy Stanaway and Tone Ng Shiu bolster the forwards. 

Akuila Rokolisoa continues his incredible rise in the game, named to don the black jersey for the third time this month after debuting in Hong Kong and backing up at the Commonwealth Games.

"We’re really looking forward to see how these players go. Guys are going to have to step up, start games and get good game time,” said All Blacks Sevens coach Clark Laidlaw.

"All the players that have come in have played well as of late so we’ve got a mix of guys who played well in Hong Kong and guys who played well at the Commonwealth Games so there is a real energy."

Spirits are high after the recent success, but Laidlaw said the team is focussed on what is ahead of them.

"This is another tournament, we start again," he added.

"The Commonwealth Games was a pinnacle event and one we tried to do well in and we’re delighted we managed that. But we’ve got three tournaments left in the World Series and we are sitting third, so we want to get as many points as we can."

The All Blacks Sevens will face Wales, Australia and Scotland in Pool D.

New Zealand Sevens squad: Tone Ng Shiu, Tim Mikkelson, Trael Joass, Joe Ravouvou, Dylan Collier, Akuila Rokolisoa, Teddy Stanaway, Andrew Knewstubb, Etene Nanai-Seturo, Ngarohi McGarvey-Black, Kurt Baker, Sione Molia, Jona Nareki

- Team Talk Media
- Team Talk Media