Preview: Singapore Sevens

World Rugby's Sevens Series resumes this weekend and the eighth round is set to kick off at the Singapore National Stadium on Saturday.

With the top seven teams only separated by 43 points, this year’s World Rugby Sevens Series is set to be the most competitive yet with everything still to play for.

In Pool A Fiji will be looking to secure their third consecutive win on the World Series this year as they take on Spain and Russia, who both field competitive sides and also invitational side Japan, who recently secured their place on the World Series next year at the Hong Kong Sevens when they defeated Germany 19-14 in the qualifier final.

Pool B includes a strong Kenyan side as they look to go one further in Singapore having placed second in the last two tournaments on the World Series. 

USA, France and England make a number of changes across their squads that featured in Hong Kong. England’s squad includes the return of experienced players such as Tom Mitchell, Dan Norton and James Rodwell to name a few, who recently claimed bronze in the Commonwealth Games.

In Pool C series leaders South Africa make changes, including the return of experienced players such as the Blitzboks all-time leading points scorer Cecil Afrika, having opted to field a younger side in Hong Kong. 

Pool C also features 2017 Singapore Sevens champions Canada alongside a competitive Argentina squad. Samoa head coach Gordon Tietjens includes three new players in his team with Jonathan Timo Ah-Sui, Vaa Apelu Maliko and Della Neli, set to make their World Series debuts this weekend.

Pool D features four teams that recently competed in the Commonwealth Games, including gold medallists New Zealand, who will be looking to continue their winning streak in Singapore. 

Australia’s new head coach, Tim Walsh names a talent-packed side on his maiden leg of the men’s World Series this year with Scotland and Wales also naming strong squads.

The action gets underway at 11:00 local time on Saturday (GMT 8) when Scotland take on Australia.

Singapore Sevens Pools

Pool A: Fiji, Spain, Russia, Japan
Pool B: Kenya, USA, France, England
Pool C: South Africa, Canada, Argentina, Samoa
Pool D: New Zealand, Australia, Scotland, Wales

With thanks to World Rugby

Photo credit: World Rugby's official website

- Team Talk Media
- Team Talk Media