PRO14 champs up first for Kings

The inaugural PRO14 competition will be bookended by matches involving the Cheetahs and Southern Kings.

Relegated from Super Rugby, the two South African teams have blazed a trail into Europe where they’ve been included in the expanded regional competition that features teams from Scotland, Ireland, Wales and Italy.

The 2017/18 season kicks off on Friday, September 1 with the Cheetahs taking on Ulster in Belfast, and the Kings are in action the next day when they face Scarlets, the reigning champs, in Llanelli.

Last season the Kings scored notable away wins in Super Rugby against the Bulls and the Waratahs and will be eager to make an early statement against a Welsh team packed full of international talent.

All existing Derby games have been protected in the new Conference format, while Italian, Scottish and South African teams have the bonus of playing a total of three Derbies each against their domestic rivals.

The league phase concludes with a South African derby in Port Elizabeth on April 27 as the Cheetahs visit the Kings.

The PRO14 playoffs begin on May 4 with the final set for Saturday, May 26.

Cheetahs & Kings, 2017/18 PRO14 fixtures:
(Date, Local Time, Home Team, Away Team, Venue)
*some times still TBC

ROUND 1
Fri, 1 Sep 19.35 Ulster v Cheetahs, Kingspan Stadium (Belfast)
Sat 2 Sep 17.30 Scarlets v Southern Kings, Parc y Scarlets (Llanelli)

ROUND 2
Sat 9 Sep 17.15 Munster v Cheetahs, Thomond Park (Limerick)
Sat 9 Sep 19.35 Connacht v Southern Kings, Sportsground (Galway)

ROUND 3
Sat 16 Sep 14.15 Southern Kings v Leinster, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (PE)
Sun 17 Sep 14.30 Cheetahs v Zebre, Free State Stadium (Bloemfontein)

ROUND 4
Fri 22 Sep 20.00 Cheetahs v Leinster, Free State Stadium (Bloemfontein)
Sat 23 Sep 19.35 Southern Kings v Zebre, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (PE)

ROUND 5
Sat 30 Sep 14.00 Cheetahs v Ospreys, Free State Stadium (Bloemfontein)
Sat 30 Sep 19.35 Dragons v Southern Kings, Rodney Parade (Newport)

ROUND 6
Fri 6 Oct 20.35 Cheetahs v Glasgow, Free State Stadium (Bloemfontein)
Sat 7 Oct 20.00 Benetton v Southern Kings, Stadio Monigo (Treviso)

ROUND 7
Fri 27 Oct 19.35 Glasgow v Southern Kings, Scotstoun (Glasgow)
Sat 28 Oct 20.00 Zebre v Cheetahs, Stadio Lanfranchi (Parma)

ROUND 8
Sat 4 Nov 19.35 Connacht v Cheetahs, Sportsground (Galway)
Sat 4 Nov 17.00 Southern Kings v Ulster, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (PE)

ROUND 9
Fri 25 Nov 19.30 Cheetahs v Edinburgh, Free State Stadium (Bloemfontein)
Sun 26 Nov 15.00 Southern Kings v Scarlets, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (PE)

ROUND 10
Sat 2 Dec 19.35 Cheetahs v Scarlets, Free State Stadium (Bloemfontein)
Fri 1 Dec 19.15 Southern Kings v Edinburgh, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (PE)

ROUND 11 & 12
Dec 23-26, Dec 30-Jan 1: SA teams on a bye

ROUND 13
Fri 5 Jan 19.35 Edinburgh v Southern Kings, Myreside (Edinburgh)
Sat 6 Jan 14.15 Benetton v Cheetahs, Stadio Monigo (Treviso)

ROUND 14
Sat 10 Feb Cardiff Blues v Cheetahs, Arms Park (Cardiff)
Sat 10 Feb Ulster v Southern Kings, Kingspan Stadium (Belfast)

ROUND 11/12 (catch-up)
Sat 13 Jan 17.00 Southern Kings v Cheetahs, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (PE)
Sat 20 Jan 17.00 Cheetahs v Southern Kings, Free State Stadium (Bloemfontein)

ROUND 15
Sat 17 Feb Ospreys v Southern Kings, Liberty Stadium (Swansea)
Sat 17 Feb Glasgow v Cheetahs, Scotstoun (Glasgow)

ROUND 16
Fri 23 Feb Ospreys v Cheetahs, Liberty Stadium (Swansea)
Fri 23 Feb Leinster v Southern Kings, RDS Arena (Dublin)

ROUND 17
Fri 2 Mar Cheetahs v Connacht, Free State Stadium (Bloemfontein)
Fri 2 Mar Southern Kings v Dragons, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (PE)

ROUND 18
Fri 23 Mar Dragons v Cheetahs, Rodney Parade (Newport)
Fri 23 Mar Southern Kings v Benetton, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (PE)

ROUND 19
Fri 6 Apr Cheetahs v Cardiff Blues, Free State Stadium (Bloemfontein)
Fri 6 Apr Southern Kings v Munster, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (PE)

ROUND 20
Fri 13 Apr Cheetahs v Munster, Free State Stadium (Bloemfontein)
Fri 13 Apr Southern Kings v Cardiff Blues, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (PE)

ROUND 21
Fri 27 Apr Southern Kings v Cheetahs, Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium (PE)

PLAYOFFS
Fri 4 May

- All Out Rugby Staff Writer

Let's chat

  • Albert Hoffman

    GO Scarlets!!…………………

Comments are closed.